The 30th Regional Juried Art Exhibition Award Recipients


Friday night was the Opening of the 30th Regional Juried Art Exhibition at the Dawson Creek Art Gallery, showcasing artists from around the Peace Region. Presented by the South Peace Community Arts Council and the Peace Liard Regional Arts Council.
The Awards were announced, here are the winners:$1000 Encana Distinguished Award – Christy Burres, for her piece titled “Hide”
$500 Encana Recognition Award – James A. McBeath, for his piece titled “Mountain, Bridge and Snow”
$200 Encana Student Award – Dustin Popesco, for his piece titled “Dryad”.

Also recognized are the following:

Chosen Award Recipients:
Mary Parslow – “This Way”
Shannon Butler – “Buffalo Bottle”
Mary Mottishaw – “Paradox: Freedom When Attached – Diptych”
Mike Aeichele – “Abo”
Laura Filgate – “Changes”
Miep Burgerjon – “Turtle’s Rest”
Payge Fortier – “Horse Power”
Judy Templeton – “Nature Speaks”
Peter Shaw – “Fall Fields”

Honourable Mentions:
Lael Chmelyk – “Breakfast Set”
Douglas Andrews – “The Birdcatcher”
Beth Simpson – “Lilies”
Mike Kroecher – “Long Shadows”
J. dela Torre – “Brilliant”
Louise Switzer – “Recycled Tree”
Cindy Vincent – “Winter Jewels”
Donna Ekman – “Connections”
Tabitha Logan – “Mirage”
Carla Hauber – “Retired”

Drop by the Art Gallery to place your SPCAC’s $300 People’s Choice Award which will be drawn June 10th. The Art Gallery is open from 9-5 daily. The exhibit will be on display until June 10th.

Brian Lieverse, the Community relations Advisor from Encana, greets Christy Burres, the $1000 Encana Distinguished Award Recipient for her piece titled “Hide” (in the background)