2020 Regional Juried Ekphrastic Writing Exhibit

Sincere thanks to Jeanette Lynes, 2020 Ekphrastic Writing Adjudicator
and congratulations to all those chosen for recognition

If you would like to purchase a copy of any of these broadsides, visit our PayPal Merchandise button on the right hand side of this page


First Distinguished Award
Marilyn Belak, Dawson Creek, BC – “Himalayan Blackberry, Rubus armeniacus or Eugenics, Colonialism & Abugidas” (inspired by Haley Bassett’s “Stop”)

Listen to Marilyn read her poem
Read Marilyn’s Poem


Second Distinguished Award
Shannon Craig, Fort St. John, BC – “Adrift in a Drift” (inspired by Barbara Swail’s “Solastalgia”)

Listen to Shannon read her poem
Read Shannon’s poem


Honourable Mentions (in alphabetical order)

Tanya Clary, Dawson Creek, BC – “Phoenix” (Inspired by Melissa Klassen’s “Phoenix”)

Listen to Tanya read her poem
ead Tanya’s poem


Pamela den Ouden, Fort St. John, BC – “Superheroes Still” (inspired by Sherry Reynard’s “Watching Waves”)

Listen to Pamela read her poem
Read Pamela’s poem


 Norma Rrae, Fort St. John, BC – “Last of Sadness Thesaurus” (inspired by Karl Mattson’s “Lost”)

Listen to Norma read her poem
Read Norma’s poem

 Seanah Roper, Fort Nelson, BC – “Love” (inspired by “Love” by Tracy Krauss)

Read Seanah’s poem


 Tamara Sunchild, Fort Nelson, BC – “Creation” (inspired by Melissa Klassen’s “Creation)

Read Tamara’s poem


 Barbara Swail, Dawson Creek, BC – “Stop” (inspired by Haley Bassett’s “Stop”)

Listen to Barbara read her poem
Read Barbara’s poem


 Katelyn Vandersteen, Fort Nelson, BC – “Amphibian Fog” (inspired by Melissa Klassen’s “Amphibian Fog”)

Read Katelyn’s poem
Listen to Katelyn read her poem




The PLRAC is pleased to host the second annual Ekphrastic Juried Exhibit and delighted to announce award-winning author and Wild Words North alum as the juror for the 2020 contest.

Jeanette Lynes is the author of seven collections of poetry and two novels. Her poetry collection Bedlam Cowslip: The John Clare Poems received the 2016 Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award. Her second novel, The Small Things That End The World won the 2019 Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award at the Saskatchewan Book Awards. Jeanette’s Personal Essay “Bat Reign” received the 2019 Constance Rooke Creative Non-Fiction Award sponsored by The Malahat Review. Jeanette directs the MFA in Writing at the University of Saskatchewan.


To view this year’s artwork from the Regional Juried Art Exhibit visit  here.

Click here for all the details.